Week One of My Raw/Living Food Detox – A Whole Lot of Rabbit Food!

Detox. Vegetarian. Raw-food. Living-food. Ughhh…Seems that those words everywhere on the Internet and on the library shelves are more synonymous with weight-loss mantras than anything else.

Be forewarned that I am not doing this 30-day detox because I want or need to lose weight. I maintain a balanced diet with lots of fruits and vegetables to begin with, I eat and love meat, I eat pasta and all sorts of carbs and sweets. I exercise on a regular basis, and I always choose the stairs over the elevator.

So why am I putting myself through a 30-day living-food detox, you ask? I rarely dwell into my personal life or feelings here but truth be told, I hadn’t been feeling well for quite some time. I’m not saying I am sick – just that my body has been feeling somewhat ill, aside from the fact that I’ve kept up my exercise and balanced eating regimen.

I’ve lost my hunger for food; simply put food doesn’t turn me on anymore. My life since the New Year has been quite tumultuous, and perhaps my not-so-hot feeling is in part due to that. However, with a series of blood tests and allergy tests coming up, I figured why not try the detox and see if I can figure out the causes and can get my groove back.

Thankfully, I am not embarking on this journey solo. I signed up for the 30-day detox workshops  offered by Crudessence here in Montreal. Last week I went to the first introductory class, where we were lectured about the Why of the living-food and raw-food nutrition and how different foods may affect our bodies. Though lots of information was covered and I made my way home feeling completely overwhelmed, what I enjoyed the most about this first experience is that we were told to take what we needed from it and to slowly adjust our habits towards incorporating the points outlined to us.

So my goal in this first week is to have two raw/living-food meals per day and in my third meal I can incorporate chicken, fish, quinoa, lentils, sweet potato, just to name a few. I am cutting out coffee, gluten, red meat, refined sugars and most dairy (I will allow myself small amounts of cheese once in a while). Though not part of the detox, as per my doctor’s recommendation I am cutting out all nuts until further notice. So what does that leave me with? A WHOLE BUNCH OF RABBIT FOOD! Now I really got to think out of the box for this one: give me a challenge, you get results!

So far my days start off with a variety of fruit based smoothies. I add some dates for extra natural sugar and energy. My favorite combination so far was a pineapple and fresh ginger smoothie. I really came as a surprise to me at how amazing the flavours tasted. You have to try this, it tastes unreal!

Pineapple and ginger smoothie

  • 1 ½ cup of fresh pineapple
  • ¼ cup water or a couple ice cubes
  • 2 fresh dates, remember to remove the pit
  • ½  tbsp fresh grated ginger

Combine all ingredients in a blender and process until smooth.

My body if still in full winter hibernation mode; all I’m craving are hot, hearty and satisfying dishes. Faced with the raw paradigm, I struggled to see how I could shift it to at once stick to my new regimen and fulfill my need. As I’m reading through the materials that were handed out to us at the workshop (yes, we even got reading material!), I noticed that some things can be eaten warmed up! The key here is not to boil or cook any of the ingredients because that is what alters their enzymes and nutrients, turning the fruit or vegetable from alkaline to acidic. So here’s my first attempt at making a raw soup – and it’s not gazpacho.

Raw Curried Carrot Soup

  • 4 large carrots, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1 tbsp pickled onion, soak onions in cider vinegar for at least 30 minutes
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp sea salt (while detoxing we’re supposed to avoid table salt; in my case I always use sea salt in my cooking)
  • ½ lemon, juiced

Combine all ingredients in a blender and process until smooth. Add a couple splashes of water if you find the soup to be too thick. Pour into bowls and serve garnished with avocado slices and/or chopped cilantro. I can imagine eating this on a hot summer day but until spring actually shows its face and the trees starts to grow leaves again, I will slowly heat it up in a pot and eat it warm.

You got three more posts coming up all about my detox experience, and another post about a surprise partnership on my end! Can you guess what it is?

10 thoughts on “Week One of My Raw/Living Food Detox – A Whole Lot of Rabbit Food!

    • Thanks Darleya for your comment! Actually, after having if a few time – hot and cold – I prefered eating cold. I think This may be a go-to dish for the upcoming summer!

  1. Pingback: Week Two of my Living/Raw Food Detox – I caved. Sorta. « Kristel's Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Week Three of my Living/Raw Food Detox – It’s Over! Now What? « Kristel's Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Week Four of my Living/Raw Food Detox – It’s Over! Now What? « Kristel's Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Week Four of my Living/Raw Food Detox – It’s Over! Now What? « Kristel's Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Potlucks and Partnerships « Kristel's Kitchen

  6. Pingback: A Guest and a Quesadilla « Kristel's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

