Week Two of my Living/Raw Food Detox – I caved. Sorta.

 So, I caved. I had half of a smoked meat sandwich over the weekend. I was out shopping in the Montreal downtown core with my mother and it was time for lunch. For lack of any living-food options in the near vicinity, I figured that Reuben’s would offer at least a salad. They indeed had salads, and enormous ones at that. In the end my mother and I decided to split the enormous salad and a smoked meat sandwich. It was good; I inhaled that half sandwich, eating it faster than I should have. It was also very very salty. I hadn’t noticed before how much salt was packed into that sandwich. I guess two weeks eating raw, therefore no processed food and limited sodium overall, it felt like I had just swallowed a salt-lick. Since, all I have been craving are those sodium rich processed foods: burgers, chips, hot dog, you name it. Aside from that small indulgence I’ve been good. Promise.

I’m about halfway through the Crudessence 30-day detox and only now am I starting to feel better. Like I said in my previous post, there are a lot of things going on in my life that are likely contributing to my state of wellness (more like, not-so-well-ness), so it makes it difficult to attribute it to one thing only.

Yup, it’s still a whole lot of rabbit food – but I’m enjoying it much more. I regained some of my appetite though I’m still not very hungry. Some of the things I’ve made include a gazpacho, a spinach salad with warm mushrooms and pears (on which a crumbled a tiny bit of blue cheese), a cauliflower “couscous” (credit goes to Crudessence for this one but it is amazing!), and miso soup (it was perfect for those rainy days we just had). I also experimented with snacks and made an avocado and kiwi salsa that I ate with endives and celery.

Here are a couple of recipes from my week that I will share with you:

Avocado and Kiwi Salsa

  • ½ small onion, finely chopped
  • ½ lemon juiced
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 2 kiwis
  • A few baby tomatoes
  • A small bunch cilantro
  • Salt, pepper and hot sauce to taste
  • 2 or 3 endives, separated into spears for dipping

Combine the chopped onion and lemon juice in a mixing bowl to marinade, sprinkle with a pinch of salt. Scoop out the avocado a smash into the bowl. Peel and dice the kiwis, dice the jalapeno and cut the tomatoes in half. Finely chop the cilantro. Combine all remainder ingredients with the avocado mixture. Season with salt, pepper and hot sauce to taste.

Serve with the endives; their bitterness is well complemented by the sweetness of the avocado-kiwi salsa. This is especially a crowd pleaser wherever you go or whomever comes overs; you can choose to add crackers for your guest but trust me, they’ll be amazed by the endives.

Raw Gazpacho

  • 1 small onion, chopped and marinated in the juice of half a lemon(see my post on T&T for raw onions here)
  • 2 small cucumbers, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 2 large celery stalks, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, flesh only, diced
  • 4 large whole tomatoes (I only had two on hand so it made for a very chunky soup)
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

I usually only make gazpacho in the summer when the tomatoes are in season, otherwise it just doesn’t taste the same. For my detox I gave it a try and decided to change my original recipe. I usually use V8 as a shortcut but since that product is off my list for 30 days (15 days left!) I found a way around it.  But first thing’s first!

Combine the chopped onion and lemon juice in a large mixing bowl, sprinkle with a pinch of salt. Let this sit while you chop and dice the rest of your ingredients. Dice the cucumber, bell pepper, celery, jalapeno (use more or less or omit depending on your taste), and any other raw vegetables you’d like to include. The key here is to dice them in uniform sizes; I like small pieces of about 1 cm.

Cut the tomatoes in half, remove the core and put them in a blender with the olive oil. Process the tomatoes until you get a uniform liquid. I only had two tomatoes on hand and it wasn’t enough liquid compared to the amount of diced vegetables. In the ingredient list I do suggest double the amount of tomatoes but play around with the quantities depending on how chunky you like your gazpacho. And this, my friends, will be my new replacement for V8. I can’t imagine the flavours of this tomato “juice” when made with perfectly ripe summer tomatoes. Mmmmm… I’m already imagining a potential for Bloody Marys or Ceasars.

In the mixing bowl, combine the remaining ingredients, including the blended tomatoes. Season with salt and pepper, and let it sit for about 30 minutes before serving to allow the flavours to intermingle. This recipe serves about four people.

Since the version I made is super chunky, I decided to serve a few spoonfuls over some sprouts and topped it with avocado slices. This combo was incredible!

5 thoughts on “Week Two of my Living/Raw Food Detox – I caved. Sorta.

  1. oooo… I’m almost sad you went for the smoked meat sandwich.
    I would be totally clueless trying to do what you do on my own. But I’ve seen what it can look like to eat only raw food and it’s amazingly inspiring. Of course, we have Chefs that prepare the food :p
    I’ve read The China Study. I’m moving away from almost all meat and processed food and now I’m walking away for dairy as well.
    My personal next step will be une cure d’aliments vivants.
    You’re my new hero. You can do it. I’m cheering for you!
    PS: You can mix 1/3 avocado, 1/3 zucchini, and 1/3 spinach to make a dip to die for with only 1/3 of the fat 🙂

  2. Pingback: Week Three of my Living/Raw Food Detox – It’s Over! Now What? « Kristel's Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Week Four of my Living/Raw Food Detox – It’s Over! Now What? « Kristel's Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Week Four of my Living/Raw Food Detox – It’s Over! Now What? « Kristel's Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Potlucks and Partnerships « Kristel's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

