A Guest and a Quesadilla

My friend Katherine and I have been meaning to set some time to cook together, and last Saturday we finally got together to do just that. We chopped, cooked and tweeted a wonderful meal of grilled tomatoes stuffed with quinoa risotto and a vegetarian quesadilla. We got great feedback from my truly wonderful Twitter followers, and even a request to share a recipe.  

I very happy to announce that Katherine has gladly agreed to share her quesadilla recipe and is writing the first guest post ever, here at Kristel’s Kitchen! She is incredibly passionate about food and cooking from the heart. She was the inspiration behind my zucchini pasta and such great support during my rawfood detox. She believes in using only the best ingredients, for flavour and for health. Getting back to basics with good quality local food is essential in her life and I am proud to feature her on my blog.

This just goes to show the power that you have as a reader: if there is something you are salivating over, then just ask and you may just get the chance to see that recipe come up on my blog soon after. To see pictures of meals – past, present and future – please go to my Facebook page, and click to like it 😉 ! 

 


 

I came upon this dish by mistake one day. I was craving quesadillas but didn’t want to have the heavy, dense, fat-laden, dry-chicken ones you get at most restaurants.  So I thought why not make a healthier version at home.

So I chopped up different veggies and tossed them together, sprinkled some freshly grated cheese, and toasted the quesadilla in a pan. To my surprise, it was delicious. The sweet potato was my signature ingredient, and it took the dish to a whole new level.

There’s no actual recipe that I followed since it could change at any given day; depending on what you have in your fridge.

Here’s a close enough recipe…

Vegetarian Quesadillas for Two

  • 1 sweet potato diced
  • 1 zucchini diced
  • 1 medium onion diced
  • 1/2 cup of mushrooms diced
  • 2 sticks of celery diced
  • 1 carrot diced
  • 1/2 tomato diced
  • 2 cloves of fresh garlic diced
  • sprinkle of smoked paprika (secret ingredient)
  • 1 tsp fresh thyme
  • 3/4 to 1 cup of cheese of choice (sharp cheddar, swiss, gruyere)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp fresh lime juice
  • chopped fresh cilantro (optional)
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 4 Tortilla wraps (I love the Kamut tortillas; they have a delicious nutty flavor)

Heat a medium skillet until the oil begins to shimmer. Add the onions, mushrooms, carrots, sweet potatoes, and celery. Once browned, add the rest of the ingredients. Cook until tender.

Assemble the tortilla on a baking sheet. Sprinkle some cheese on one side, add cooked mixture, sprinkle more cheese, and cover with second tortilla. You can either grill it on both sides or toast it in a pan.

Slice in 4 pieces. Serve with homemade guacamole, sour cream (or Greek yogurt), and a lime wedge.

Enjoy,

Katie

One thought on “A Guest and a Quesadilla

  1. Pingback: Brunch, Oeuf en Cassolette « Kristel's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

