Hot’n’Cold Roasted Red Pepper Soup

I am not sure what the weather is like where you live, but here it seems that it has a multiple personality disorder. Just as I had started taking out cozy wool sweaters, leggings and boots, here I am sitting in shorts and at-shirt. I am not complaining – personnaly I love this change in weather. Just when I thought I was going to completely flip my wardrobe from Spring/Summer to Fall/Winter, I am giddy at the thought of wearing my favourite sundress one last time.

This soup recipe is the best for this kind schizophrenic climate: a roasted red pepper soup, that is just as good hot on a cold day or even cold for when the mercury rises one last time.

Roasted Red Pepper Soup

  • 3 peppers
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 garlic head
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/2 tbsp miso shiro
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • pinch chili flakes

Begin by roasting peppers. I am not going to describe the roasting, resting and peeling process because I have already written it out for you here.

Slice off the top of the garlic head, drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Wrap in foil and roast on the BBQ or in the oven for about 30 minutes at 400°F. What you are looking for is some caramelization happeningto the garlic cloves. Open up the aluminum foil to check to see if the garlic is tender and golden brown under the paper wrapping each clove. There are two ways of proceeding with removing roasted garlic from its paper wrapping. You can eithersqueeze out all the flesh into a bowl, but I find this way you get a lot of waste and mess. A bit more time consuming but works really well, is to take a pairing knife and remove each clove from it’s paper casing. I know it sounds tedious, but I swear it is better for extracting the roasted caramelized cloves.

The rest is beyond easy. For this soup recipe I recommend using about 3 cloves of roasted garlic (or 1 tbsp paste depending which method you chose above). Extra cloves can be pureed into a paste with olive oil or butter and used as a spread or to add to sauces. Keeps for a week in the fridge.

Combine the garlic, roasted red pepper, whole fresh tomato, miso shiro,water and chili flakes in a blender. Process until smooth.

Garnish with plain yogurt, croutons, olive oil, nuts or seeds, and depending on what Mother Nature has to offer that day serve cold or hot. Makes two servings.

Leave a Reply

