A warm kicked’up drink good for the soul (and a cold!)

Well it is that time of year again… I think I see a trend forming. Somehow come November this regular blogging thing goes on hiatus. In between closing the year-end with the 9-5, attending some fabulous events like the launch of the Mixeur Montreal Guides and the Alsace au menu dinner at Le hangar, planning Dishcrawl events, shopping, holiday parties,  endless eating, some drinking…let’s face it and we all know this – it’s a busy time of year!

Amidst the rush, daylight savings time and the erratic weather, the common cold is just around the corner. If it is not a cold then I find myself wanting to curl up with some classic comforts that make me feel cosy inside even when it is crummy outside (snow anytime please, I’d like to ski over the holidays!), with some thick wool socks and warm drinks.

When I was little, my mom would make a grog for me when I had a cold and a sore throat. Her version of the drink was made with hot water with lemon and honey, the right ingredients to make me feel better (very PG). Since those days, I have moved out, taken on adult responsibilities and this drink has become all grown-up – but I still turn to this basic combination of ingredients when I need to curl up with something hot and comforting.

So here is my kicked’up version of a grog. Makes a great warm cocktail for the holidays, a snowy day or après-ski – and still comforts you when you have the sniffles!

Kicked’up Grog

  • 1 oz whisky or rhum
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1 tbso fresh grated ginger
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1 tbsp honey, or to taste
  • Pinch of your choice of spices such as nutmeg, clove, anis, cardamom…

Combine all ingredients in a mug, stir and enjoy! Makes one drink.

One thought on “A warm kicked’up drink good for the soul (and a cold!)

  1. Pingback: The Kidney Community Kitchen « Kristel's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

